And the ttff/12 Winners are…

The gala awards ceremony of the ttff/12 took place earlier this evening at the National Academy for the Performing Arts, Port of Spain. Here is a full list of the winners.

Jury Awards: Best Films

Best Narrative Feature sponsored by NGC
Distance, directed by Sergio Ramirez

Best Documentary Feature sponsored by NGC
The Story of Lover’s Rock, directed by Menelik Shabazz

Best Short sponsored by NGC
Peace: Memories of Anton de Kom, directed by Ida Does

Best Caribbean Film by an International Filmmaker sponsored by NLCB
The Bastard Sings the Sweetest Song, directed by Christy Garland

Special mentions in the best film category:

Best Narrative Feature
Choco, directed by Jhonny Hendrix Hinestroza

Best Documentary Feature
Broken Stones, directed by Guetty Felin

Best Short
Awa Brak, directed by Juan Francisco Pardo

Jury Awards: Best Local Films

Best Local Feature sponsored by TTFC
Inward Hunger, directed by Mariel Brown

Best Local Short sponsored by TTFC
Where the Sun Sets, directed by Ryan Latchmansingh

Special mentions in the best local short film category:

Tickle Me Rich, directed by Sonja Dumas

Jury Awards: Acting

Best Actor in a Caribbean Film
Jimmy Jean-Louis, Toussaint L’Ouverture, directed by Philippe Niang

Best Actor in a Local Film
Christopher Chin Choy, Where the Sun Sets, directed by Ryan Latchmansingh

Best Actress in a Local Film
Terri Lyons, No Soca, No Life, directed by Kevin Adams

People’s Choice Awards

People’s Choice Award: Narrative Feature sponsored by Flow
Toussaint L’Ouverture, directed by Philippe Niang

People’s Choice Award: Documentary Feature sponsored by NH International
La Gaita, directed by Janine Fung

People’s Choice Award: Best Short sponsored by Agostini Brokers
Buck: The Man Spirit, directed by Steven Taylor

Other Awards

bpTT Film in Development Award
Cutlass, Deresha Beresford & Teneille Newallo

WorldView/Tribeca Film Institute Pitch Awards
Ryan Khan
Joaquin Ruano
Natalie Wei

RBC Focus: Filmmakers’ Immersion Pitch Award
Michelle Serieux

ACP Film that Best Epitomises Cultural Diversity
Stone Street, directed by Elspeth Kydd

CCN Film Criticism Award
Barbara Jenkins, “Three’s a Crowd”, review of Una Noche, directed by Lucy Mulloy

Film Criticism Special Mentions
Dainia Wright, Renelle White

bpTT Best Student, University of the West Indies Film Programme
Dinesh Maharaj

AfroPop/National Black Programming Consortium Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award
Mandisa Pantin

Flow 50-Second Film Competition
M Jay Gonzalez

Image: A shot from Distance

Date: Sun 30 Sep, 2012
Category: ttff news and features

Share: Share on Facebook Tweet to Twitter

The Trinidad+Tobago Film Festival would like to acknowledge the generous support of our sponsors.

Signature Sponsor

Leading Sponsors

Festival Partners

Join Our Mailinglist

* indicates required

Contact Us

22 Jerningham Ave,
Belmont, Port of Spain,
Trinidad and Tobago, WI

1 (868) 227-8458 or
1 (868) 277-3456 (FILM)