RBC Youth Jury Selected

In photo:(left to right) Josiah Persad, Charles Arjan Bachew, Anais Khan- George, Shania Duncan, Ms Hazel Ann Marshall (RBC),Senior Manager Marketing – Region and TT | RBC Financial (Caribbean) Limited, Nicholai Rampersad,  Shivanna Maharaj and  Dominic Adel Branche 

Seven young people will enjoy the trinidad+tobago film festival (ttff) 2017 experience as jurors for the RBC Royal Bank Youth Jury Award. The jurors were selected following an open call for submissions earlier this year.  They will view six films in competition during ttff/17 and the award for first place will be presented at the ttff’s prize-giving ceremony on Tuesday 26 September 2017, at the Central Bank Auditorium, Port of Spain.

The  ttff/17 RBC Youth Jury members are:

  • Dominic Adel Branche, Belmont
  • Anais Khan- George, St. Augustine
  • Charles Arjan Bachew, D’Abadie
  • Josiah Persad, Sangre Grande
  • Nicholai Rampersad, Penal
  • Shania Duncan, Chaguanas
  • Shivanna Maharaj,  Sangre Grande

The jury, comprising mainly of high school students, was selected based on essays they submitted on why they loved their favourite film.  During ttff/17, under the mentorship of film critic and journalist, B.C. Pires, the Jury will view six Caribbean and international feature length films, featuring young protagonists negotiating through a variety of ‘coming of age’ situations, issues and challenges. The Youth Jury initiative was launched in 2014 as a way of stimulating interest in fostering a critical appreciation of independent film among young people.

The six films in competition are:

After the jurors have viewed all the films in competition, they will choose the winning film. The director of the feature will receive a trophy plus a cash award of $5,000 sponsored and presented by RBC Royal Bank at the ttff/17 Award Ceremony.

The trinidad+tobago film festival (ttff) celebrates films from and about the Caribbean and its diaspora, as well as from world cinema, through an annual festival and year-round screenings. In addition, the ttff seeks to facilitate the growth of Caribbean cinema by offering a wide-ranging industry programme and networking opportunities. The ttff is presented by Flow; given leading sponsorship by BPTT and the Ministry of Community Development, Culture and the Arts; supporting sponsorship by the Inter-American Development Bank and UN Women; and contributing sponsorship from RBC Royal Bank.

Date: Wed 30 Aug, 2017
Category: ttff news and features

RBC Youth Jury Selected

Share: Share on Facebook Tweet to Twitter

The Trinidad+Tobago Film Festival would like to acknowledge the generous support of our sponsors.

Signature Sponsor

Leading Sponsors

Festival Partners

Join Our Mailinglist

* indicates required

Contact Us

22 Jerningham Ave,
Belmont, Port of Spain,
Trinidad and Tobago, WI

1 (868) 227-8458 or
1 (868) 277-3456 (FILM)