17-23 August
Save the Date

And the winners are…

The awards ceremony of the trinidad+tobago film festival 2011 was held last evening at the Little Carib Theatre in Woodbrook. Here is a list of all the winners.

Jury awards
Best narrative feature: Jean Gentil, Israel Cárdenas & Laura Guzmán
Best documentary feature: Hit Me with Music, Miquel Galofré
Best short film: 10 Ave Maria, Juan Francisco Pardo & Ryan Oduber

Special mention, best narrative feature: Boleto al paraíso, Gerardo Chijona
Special mention, best documentary feature: When the Drum is Beating, Whitney Dow
Special mention, best short film: Classical Steel, John Barry

Best local feature: ’70: Remembering a Revolution: Alex de Verteuil & Elizabeth Topp
Best local short: Sweet Fries, Renée Pollonais
Best actor in a local film: Gerry Bednob, The Rise and Fall of John Tesoro
Best actress in a local film: Dionese Sylvester, Sweet Fries

People’s choice awards
Best narrative feature: Better Mus’ Come, Storm Saulter
Best documentary feature: Hit Me with Music, Miquel Galofré
Best short: Chinee Girl, Natalie Wei

Social awareness award
Positive & Pregnant, Stacy Lela

Focus: Filmmakers’ Immersion pitch session winner
Maria Govan

Graduate Film Development Award
Francesca Hawkins

Lifetime Achievement Award
Harry Belafonte

Image: A still from Jean Gentil

Date: Mon 03 Oct, 2011
Category: ttff news and features

Share: Share on Facebook Tweet to Twitter

ttff/19 Festival Basics

ttff/19 Foldout Guide

View 2019 Film Index A-Z

Visit the Caribbean Film Database

The Trinidad+Tobago Film Festival would like to acknowledge the generous support of our sponsors.

Leading Sponsors

Supporting Sponsors

Contributing Sponsors


Join Our Mailinglist

Contact Us

Corner Jerningham Ave and Queen’s Park East,
Port of Spain,
Trinidad and Tobago

Tel: 1.868.323.3228